I’m just here for a new profile picture

Contrary to the statement above, I am not, in fact, simply traveling to England for a new profile photo. If one so happens to rise to that status, however, it will only make the trip that much more worthwhile. To be honest, it is just now beginning to settle in that I will be traveling internationally in three days. This could be due to the fact that a minimal amount of packing has been executed. Hey, it’s always the thought that counts, and I’ve thought about packing quite a bit. This past Christmas break, I have been preparing for England by watching as many documentaries as possible (yes, I had a lot of free time on my hands). I checked-out of the library with so many dvds, I could even feel the judgmental stares from the librarians as they admired, and lo-and-behold envied, my nerd-like ambitions to learn more about the history of Great Britain. Today, I can say with confidence that I have retained a very minimal amount of the information from the numerous hours I clocked. But again, it’s the thought that counts.

Now onto what I am most eager to encounter over this upcoming fortnight. This is a difficult question to answer because the best answer I can come up with now is…well, everything! As this is my maiden voyage to the homeland, I cannot wait to engulf all England’s wonders: those weird column rocks in a circle, the steaming pools of spring water, that annoyingly tall clock everyone drools over and the cylindrical, black bushy hats. Side note: Do you think they sell those at gift stores? Even more important side note: If I were so lucky to purchase one, would it fit in my suitcase for the plane ride home? Ah, I suppose I’ll cross that bridge when it comes…the London Bridge of course.

On a serious note (surprising, I know), I am thrilled to have this amazing opportunity. With my final project as a geographical account of the life and novels of Jane Austen, I am anxiously awaiting, just as a 7th grade girl waits for the new One Direction album’s release, to visit the sites of her homes and references in her novels. Maybe even find a Mr. Darcy of my own? A girl can only dream…

With that long-winded personal statement of excitement coming to a close, I better begin my packing process. No really, that is what I am bound and determined to do. Do you think my cowboy boots would be socially acceptable to bring along? They sure are comfy and stylish…and would make for great footwear during an improve flash mob dance.

-By the way, I do, in fact, know the names of those famous England landmarks listed above: Stonehenge, Bath, Big Ben, and palace guard bearskin hats.

One of the greatest things to come out of England: SClub 7.

One of the greatest things to come out of England: SClub 7.

One thought on “I’m just here for a new profile picture

Leave a Reply

