Keep Calm and Carry on Luggage

In the past few months, I have learned a valuable “travel” lesson…keep all expensive items with you at all times when flying. As that familiar announcement goes, “…all unattended baggage will be confiscated.” Well, Englanders, so will poorly packed baggage! After having my digital camera stolen from my luggage in June, I am traveling much smarter on this trip to England. Continuing with that theme, I will be attempting to pack light, and keep my suitcase under 50 pounds. My family will be proud, as I have been known to go over the weight limit in the past.

As I think about our upcoming trip, I am getting very excited about all the experiences awaiting us! I am most eager to visit London! Between my family, friends, and classmates, I have heard so many wonderful stories about London’s shopping, activities and theater productions. First, I cannot wait to see Harrods. I am really hoping it is as fabulous inside as it looks on the outside! Next, I will be impatiently anticipating our “night flight” on the London Eye! I researched the Eye for my travel entry and it is a truly remarkable piece of modern England. Viewing the city at night from 443 feet in the air will be breathtaking! Also, I am looking forward to attending the three theater shows in London. Since I have seen Broadway shows in New York City before, I am curious how the shows in London compare to those here in the United States.

As for the historical sites, I am overwhelmed thinking about all of England’s museums, castles, landmark structures and much, much more. From Parliament and the Tower of London, to Stonehenge and Bath, I am excited to soak up the history of England. Overall, I am hoping to gain a better understanding of another culture from this trip. By the end of our two weeks, I want to be better educated on European fashion, businesses, history and everything in between.

However, I am keeping my expectations low about England’s food. My family has already warned me that you do not travel to London for its cuisine. First, I am an avid coffee drinker. It will be a difficult adjustment to start my day without a k-cup, packet of sweet-n-low, and coffee-mate. However, I feel a sense of relief knowing Starbucks is prevalent on most corner blocks…whew! Who knows, maybe I will find a new love of tea and biscuits while on this trip. Also, seafood, not so much! Fish and chips, I will give the report on that later!! But, I will try and keep an open mind.

In a few short hours, my packing process, too, will start. I have no clue what area I am going to tackle first, clothing, shoes, hair products…but I’m sure my room will be a disaster zone until the zipper gets pulled around by one (49 lb) bag. Oh well, the packing stress will definitely be worth it when the plane starts its decent into Gatwick, and I know I have my valuables stowed safely below my seat, and we begin this once-in-a-lifetime journey!

~ Cheers, Kristen

2 thoughts on “Keep Calm and Carry on Luggage

  1. Rebecca Sanders

    Hi Kristen,
    I am a pal of your Daddy’s. Actually, I could tell you some funny stuff about his high school days. LOL
    Just wanted to tell you that my Julia, OSU grad a few years ago, spent two summers in London! She loved it and learned to eat cucumber sandwiches! The theatre is amazing there — I also remember that she allowed a neat lady to use her laptop; it was never returned. Beware — You will love this time of your life. Take pictures and make sure to email your Daddy; he worries about you.
    Rebecca 🙂

    Reply
  2. Aunt Barb

    Hi Kristen, Very excited for you! Can’t wait to hear of all your great adventures. I have never been to England and look forward to seeing it through your eyes. love U. Aunt Barb

    Reply

Leave a Reply

