I’ll tell you what I want, what I really really want

As a youngster who played “spice girls” instead of tag, and listened to Coldplay instead of Jay-Z, and was made to sit on long car trips listening to “I Wanna Hold Your Hand” and “Ticket to Ride”, I’ve had a lot of England in my life. My heritage is about half English (along with every other European brand of pale), so I am looking forward to immersing myself in the culture that I came from many years ago.

I am beyond excited for this transatlantic voyage that is about to take place in 2 short days! With graduation in 4 months, this trip sort of stands as a college finale for me. Ever since I was a lowly freshman, I heard about this trip and promised myself that when the time came, I would fork over the money and make it one of the most memorable experiences of the last 4 years. I am beyond excited that so many of my friends are going on this trip, although I’m not sure that Britain is ready for us and our American shenanigans! I also look forward to getting to know people outside of my nursing bubble!

When I think of what I am most excited about, I cannot really pinpoint one place or thing. Places that come to mind? Paris. Who doesn’t dream of going to Paris, sitting on the lawn at the Eiffel Tower in a beret eating a croissant? (Although I hope to avoid the awkward “gracias, er I mean merci” while sorting through my vault of various foreign vocabulary). Then, as a nerdy nursing student I think of how cool it will be to visit English hospitals, which are worlds away from the American version we are so used to. And Florence Nightingale’s home and grave. Good ole Florence, perhaps the reason that we nursing students are in school and have chosen it as our life career. Then, Stonehenge. I mean, a circle of gigantic rocks in a field, but yet so fascinating and historical that you can’t look away. And the Tower of London, Buckingham Palace, and other places that just scream living history. It’s amazing to think of how old a lot of these places are and what life was like for people living back in those days (probably dirtier and smellier). I am looking forward to the theater performances, although I sometimes scratch my head at Shakespearean vocabulary and pretend to understand what it means. But it will be a wonderful experience to see live performances. Overall, I think we are going to have a fantastic time!

My main goals:

1) Don’t overpack (Seriously, its England, not rural New Guinea)

2) Don’t reenact the airplane scene from Bridesmaids (What kind of name is that, Stove? Are you an appliance?)

3) Take awkward pictures with one of the royal guards (Awkward family photos?)

4) Try to not seem obnoxiously American (I guess I will leave my American Flag shirt at home)

5) Bump into Adele on the street and have an impromptu Rolling in the Deep sing-a-long with Christine Hein

6) Come home with a perfect British accent (which makes everything sound so much classier)

I hope that this experience will orient me to the culture and world of everything English from food and clothes, to history and healthcare, while also having a ridiculous amount of fun along the way. 

Cheerio ole chaps!

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

