“Blackbird Singin’ in the Dead of Night…”

For the majority of this trip, one thought has always been in the back of my mind: “Dad would love it here.”  My father, though plagued by terminal illness, is the brightest star in my sky.  He has always been a huge fan of the Beatles, ever since he was in high school.  We own every single one of their albums…on vinyl.  Growing up I heard every one of their songs, and was serenaded with “Here Comes the Sun” and “Blackbird” as a baby.  

So, today, as a group of friend and I recreated the infamous Beatles pose at Abbey Road I grew teary-eyed at the thought of my dad back home in the States, blissfully unaware of what his only child is doing thousands of miles away.   I can’t wait to go home and show him what I was up to in the land of our forefathers (did the super British last name give it away?).  

 

Cheers, dad, your blackbird will be flying home soon ❤

Leave a Reply

