Home Again

We just got to Charlotte airport and it feels bittersweet. I’m so happy to be back in my timezone and back within my non cellphone roaming areas. I can’t wait to sleep in my own bed tonight. This has been a trip I will never forget. 
Throughout the past 14 days, I have had some of the best days of my life and one of the worst. During the first week, I got and email from a graduate school I had really been hoping to get into, giving me an interview. I was ecstatic. I had crazy adventures with my best friends and saw sights few people are lucky enough to ever lay eyes on. 
Then came the worst. With 4 days left, I got the news that a close friend of mine had passed, very unexpectedly. Very. I was shocked. He was one of the last people I saw before leaving for this trip. The guilt I felt being on the trip of my life while my best friends plan calling hours and a eulogy was unbearable. Knowing the pain my friends were in while I was across the ocean was probably the worst feelings I’ve ever had. But there was a small silver lining. After his passing I was able to light a candle for him at the Notre Dame in Paris and at St. Paul’s Cathedral in London. My thoughts for him were coming from all over the world. A small comfort and a unique way to celebrate someone’s life. 
I wouldn’t have traded this trip for anything in the world.
Leave a Reply

